France overseas

France is not limited to its metropolitan territory, it also includes overseas territories (in French, “territoires d’Outre-Mer”) on five continents. There are 12 of them, with nearly 2.6 million inhabitants, including 1.2 million young people.
Today, the overseas territories include:

  • overseas départements and regions (Guadeloupe, Réunion, Mayotte)
  • two unique communities (Guyana and Martinique)
  • territorial communities of overseas (Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, the Wallis and Futuna Islands, French Polynesia, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin …)

For more information on each of these territories, visit the website