Political organization

France is a democratic republic whose principles and values ​​are enshrined in the 1958 Constitution. The regime is based on the separation of powers:

  • the legislative power is entrusted to the Parliament
  • the executive power is entrusted to a government composed of a prime minister and ministers, headed by the President. The President is elected by the people and its term lasts 5 years (it is called “quinquennat”)
  • the judicial power is entrusted to the judicial authorities (judges, magistrates …)

This short animated video presents the separation of powers. For more information on French political system, go to the European Union’s website.