France in Europe

France is one of the six founding countries of the European Union, with Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Belgium. It is the first European nation in terms of surface (with about 633,000 km2) and the second after Germany in terms of population (with about 67 million inhabitants).

France, like its European partners, wants to be listened to  and defend its interests within the European Union. It is represented by the President of the Republic and the Ministers present at the councils, but also by the Prime Minister supported by the General Secretary of European Affairs. Finally, France has European elected representatives: it is represented by 74 deputies in the European Parliament.

For more information on France’s role in the European Union, visit