Administrative division

France is a territory divided into 18 regions, which are subdivided into 101 départements. The country also has more than 35,000 municipalities (“communes”). French territory includes the metropolis (the territory located on the European continent) and the overseas territories (all territories and islands located far from the continent, separated by seas and oceans).
The regions are in charge of high schools, regional parks, regional transportation, culture…  The assembly that runs the region is the Conseil régional.

The départments are in charge of social assistance, colleges, roads … The assembly that heads the départment is the Conseil départemental.

The “communes” are responsible for kindergartens and primary schools, but also for public works in the municipality. They are administered by the Conseil municipal. The mayor is at the head of the commune.

For more information, visit